TO THE EDITOR OF THE CORK EXAMINER.

Bantry Abbey, June 12, 1847.
SIR.– On entering the graveyard this day, my attention was arrested by two paupers who were engaged in digging a pit for the purpose of burying their fellow paupers; they were employed in an old ditch. I asked why they were so circumscribed; the answer was “that green one you see on the other side is the property of Lord Bearhaven. His stewards have given us positive directions not to encroach on his property, and we have no alternative but this old ditch; here is where we bury our paupers.”

I measured the ground– it was exactly forty feet square, and contained according to their calculation, nine hundred bodies. They then invited me to come and see a grave close by. I could scarcely endure the scene. The fragments of a corpse were exposed, in a manner revolting to humanity; the impression of a dog’s teeth was visible. The old clothes were all that remained to show where the corpse was laid.

They then told me most deaths in the workhouse were occasioned by bad water; and the Guardians would not pay for a horse to procure clean water from a distance. More particulars in my next.

JEREMIAH O’CALLAGHAN

