IRISH RELIEF FROM INDIA.

Extract from a letter of one of the Bombay Committee dated Bombay, May 1.

“You will I hope, pardon my drawing your attention to the subscription lists which I have had the pleasure of forwarding to you as published in the Bombay Times. The very liberal subscription of the natives is most gratifying, and will, I doubt not, be felt to be so as strongly by your own committee as they are here. The Sepoys of some of the native regiments have subscribed as largely as the same grade, rank and file, in European regiments; the native employes in all the Company’s departments of service, jagheredars and native princes, have all, where it has been known to them, come forward most liberally, often most so where the means have been the shortest.

“I must not permit myself to detail the many pleasing instances of deep and real sympathy which have come to my notice, and only venture to allude to them because they evidence the vital unity of feeling which binds together the members of England’s mighty empire.

“These mutual acts of kindness and fellow feeling tend to strengthen the attachment both of the mother country and her dependencies, and are among the best pledges of its preservance. . .

